Jump to content


Photo

playing habits: How do you play ra2?


  • Please log in to reply
94 replies to this topic

#26 JoKuJaK

JoKuJaK

    b00yaka

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10846 posts
  • Location:Earth
  • XWIS Name: JoKuJaK

Posted 11 August 2013 - 01:53 PM

i play for fun usually 


Edited by JoKuJaK, 11 August 2013 - 04:33 PM.


#27 Seke

Seke

    C&C Tournament Organizer

  • Help Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6690 posts

Posted 11 August 2013 - 06:06 PM

Yeah that's true, was just good for early game..anti scouting and finding tech's asap.

 

very cool.



#28 ExpaNd

ExpaNd

    RanDoMiZer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3825 posts
  • Location:Merrillville, IN
  • XWIS Name: ExpaNd

Posted 11 August 2013 - 06:30 PM

i play for fun usually


Nice edit f10

#29 JoKuJaK

JoKuJaK

    b00yaka

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10846 posts
  • Location:Earth
  • XWIS Name: JoKuJaK

Posted 14 August 2013 - 10:24 AM

c



#30 Edd

Edd

    I LoVe LiZa

  • Bounty Hunters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4098 posts
  • Location:USA
  • XWIS Name: Edd

Posted 17 August 2013 - 06:05 AM

Index+Ring Fingers - N+D 

Ring - Q, Middle finger F2, Thumb - Spacebar.  This is pretty much the layout of my left hand.  Got used to it with all the years of CMing.  My thumb placed on spacebar to see opponents pings instantly and middle finger on F2 (Bookmark to home) to instantly come back to my base.  

 

Other than that, I number units with Pinky on cntrl+Middle finger on 1,2,3,4, (then if I need more, I use index to reach the rest) - I dont have a solid numbering habit.  I change up my units most of the time throughout the game.  At the start my tanks can be 1 and end up at 4... depending on what's going on.

 

I use Ring finger to Sell on (A)

 

Thumb on ALT for dogs

Pinky and Ring finger - cntrl + shift

 

Right click to scroll through map.


Edited by Edd, 17 August 2013 - 06:07 AM.


#31 Rocker219

Rocker219

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 742 posts

Posted 17 August 2013 - 08:36 AM

I use pinky for ctrl

 

I use my thumb for the keyboard.

 

I team my units

 

1 Rockies

2 ifvs

3 dogs/tank

4-5-6-7 planes

 

Sometimes I alternate.

 

If im not listening to outside music I play Hell March 2 100% of the time every game. Always have since wol times on repeat.



#32 ZiGZaG

ZiGZaG

    Commander

  • ST Retirees
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5085 posts
  • Location:Scotland, Glasgow
  • XWIS Name: Freedom

Posted 18 August 2013 - 06:07 AM

Ive played for 10+ years and the best bit of advice from playing habits i ever had came about 2 years ago, re-assign the keys for sell + repair as something easier to use and remember them.

 

e.g. "A" is repair for me and "F" is sell, after a week of playing this its almost unforgettable and it can seriously help in some situations,



#33 AlliedPlayer

AlliedPlayer

    Allied BOSS

  • Donators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15264 posts

Posted 18 August 2013 - 09:52 AM

Ive played for 10+ years and the best bit of advice from playing habits i ever had came about 2 years ago, re-assign the keys for sell + repair as something easier to use and remember them.

 

e.g. "A" is repair for me and "F" is sell, after a week of playing this its almost unforgettable and it can seriously help in some situations,

 

i still stick to K and L :) 



#34 Seke

Seke

    C&C Tournament Organizer

  • Help Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6690 posts

Posted 18 August 2013 - 06:22 PM

I dont use hotkey to fix or sell



#35 DrVanNostrand

DrVanNostrand

    Colonel

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5114 posts

Posted 18 August 2013 - 06:32 PM

i only use hotkey to waypoint i think, and to build.



#36 AMadKirov

AMadKirov

    Bad?Aim

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1092 posts

Posted 19 August 2013 - 01:57 AM

Well, Im a shooter games player.

 

When i started to play this game i didnt like the fact that i have to move my had too much to use the hotkeys. so i made my hotkeys like im playing a shooter game.

 

when you play a shooter game you usually use this keys

to walk : W, A, S, D

Reload and open doors or pick things up: R and E

Previous Weapon: Q

Flashlight: F

 

Well this is how i binds my keys;

 

Q: Select all combat units "P"
W: Go to base "H"
E: Unit tab "E"
R: Tanks tab "R"
A: Type select "T"
S:  Defence tab "W"
D: Structure tab "Q"
F: Repair "K"

X: Next unit "N"
C: Deploy "D"

 

In conclusion my kb is way diff than any of you ;)



#37 PiNeRs

PiNeRs

    2v2er

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 770 posts
  • Location:Philadelphia, USA
  • XWIS Name: djaningar

Posted 19 August 2013 - 03:34 AM

did I mention I use 800x600 reso ? :showoff:



#38 cl0ud

cl0ud

    New Conscript

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Location:Where Ever i Be
  • XWIS Name: cl0ud

Posted 19 October 2013 - 10:23 PM

On yuri I would always number dogs 1-4 scouting and way pointing around pinch points way point being z I changed repair to ~ key it's left of 1 and sell is c as I made griz they would be 3 Rockies 4 ifvs 2 single or double planes 5-6 Battle forts 1 mirages and prisms grouped in 3 chronos would be 0,9 when I started playing ra2 more I would realize I didn't use 1 after dog died no bfs :(. Rhinos 1 flak 2 fodder 3 drone 4 v3 5-6 Kirov 0-9 or drones that put at pinch points fingers on qwer to start then my fingers automatically move up to 1-4 without me realizing it.

#39 ImNewButOld

ImNewButOld

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 928 posts

Posted 19 October 2013 - 11:40 PM

did I mention I use 800x600 reso ? :showoff:


Lmao beast

#40 rumblesom

rumblesom

    Captain

  • Strike Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4968 posts

Posted 20 October 2013 - 12:45 AM

Super beast - but y piners?

#41 Seke

Seke

    C&C Tournament Organizer

  • Help Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6690 posts

Posted 20 October 2013 - 02:37 AM

Super beast - but y piners?

 

He thinks its easier to micro.



#42 Drasten

Drasten

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 512 posts

Posted 20 October 2013 - 11:15 AM

did I mention I use 800x600 reso ? :showoff:

 

Man if you would try to use 1920x1080 reso or even higher if your screen supports it, you will notice how much easier it is to play;) Just give it a chance^^



#43 PiNeRs

PiNeRs

    2v2er

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 770 posts
  • Location:Philadelphia, USA
  • XWIS Name: djaningar

Posted 20 October 2013 - 08:59 PM

Man if you would try to use 1920x1080 reso or even higher if your screen supports it, you will notice how much easier it is to play;) Just give it a chance^^

I may not be the best, but im the most unique. (i.e. chrono commandos in serious AvA games.)

 

Naaaa the real reason: i need excuses when im beat ^^ 



#44 hardman

hardman

    Commander

  • Strike Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10521 posts

Posted 20 October 2013 - 09:18 PM


Haha I used to use arrows years ago. They're really not a benefit imo. Just means you can scroll about 50% faster than the fastest you can scroll whilst right clicking.

 

Mouse in left hand and keyboard angled to to the right (for better access to QWER and the numbers with my right hand). Used to be a big fan of coordinates (me and w0nna seemed to be the only ones!) and had a little pad with the coordinates written down for techs and key areas on lots of maps.

 

coordinates wtf? Do you also play with a compass and a hand drawn map?? :p


Edited by yiddo, 20 October 2013 - 09:18 PM.


#45 SoVsOrDiE

SoVsOrDiE

    Music is my religion!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3664 posts
  • Location:Manchester, UK
  • XWIS Name: SoVsOrDiE

Posted 21 October 2013 - 01:45 AM

 

coordinates wtf? Do you also play with a compass and a hand drawn map?? :p

 

Haha, how silly..what use would that be?

 

..I save that for when i'm playing on Skyrim.



#46 Seke

Seke

    C&C Tournament Organizer

  • Help Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6690 posts

Posted 21 October 2013 - 03:49 AM

Haha, how silly..what use would that be?

 

..I save that for when i'm playing on Skyrim.

 

Just got level 113 on Skyrim. No joke, no hax.



#47 SoVsOrDiE

SoVsOrDiE

    Music is my religion!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3664 posts
  • Location:Manchester, UK
  • XWIS Name: SoVsOrDiE

Posted 21 October 2013 - 11:45 AM

Legendary edition? I got to 47 or something and then everything seemed rather easy and I stopped playing =(



#48 AlliedPlayer

AlliedPlayer

    Allied BOSS

  • Donators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15264 posts

Posted 21 October 2013 - 12:22 PM

Legendary edition? I got to 47 or something and then everything seemed rather easy and I stopped playing =(

 

 

Me and Chris have a habit of playing some music to get us in the mood - this may be why we dont hear some things during the game, but its more fun! :D 



#49 Drasten

Drasten

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 512 posts

Posted 21 October 2013 - 09:02 PM

Just got level 113 on Skyrim. No joke, no hax.

 

Problem with skyrim is loot/combat is heavily flawed. One can easily craft a weapon that more or less one-shoot everything in game. And armor that makes you invincible.



#50 Seke

Seke

    C&C Tournament Organizer

  • Help Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6690 posts

Posted 21 October 2013 - 10:26 PM

Legendary edition? I got to 47 or something and then everything seemed rather easy and I stopped playing =(

 

Yes, I've made a lot of my skills legendary... some more than once. I just recently went 15-100 smithing four times in a row just because I had so many gems and bars... Same with alchemy. Enchanting is what I'm going to do next. However, the skilling isn't the main idea of the game; it is the quests.

 

 

Problem with skyrim is loot/combat is heavily flawed. One can easily craft a weapon that more or less one-shoot everything in game. And armor that makes you invincible.

 

That's true and there are two very simple ways you can play around this:

1. use gear that isn't crazy good

2. put the game settings on master.... I put mine on expert/master depending on the dungeon because my gear is pretty maxed out too.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users