82 replies to this topic

#1 cranmer56

cranmer56

Corporal

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts

Posted 28 September 2014 - 12:25 PM

I've been playing on XWIS for a few months now and there seems to be two horrible trends;

1) Campers/Turtlers - People playing as allies and camping in their own base or playing in battle against two campers and ruining the game - can anyone give a good reason why players do it? And also, is there a way to stop it?

2) Money maps (eg funny big map, beach frontier, thc4 etc..) - who makes these things and why do people play them?? They completely defeat the object of the game. I am sure the creators and developers would be turning in their sleep if they knew how these people were bastardizing this beautiful game. One of the key and most fun aspects of the game is resource gathering and money maps remove this completely making it a crude numbers game.

Surely people feel the same?

#2 XXxPrePxX

XXxPrePxX

King of Yuris Revenge

• XWIS Buddies
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8536 posts

Posted 28 September 2014 - 12:59 PM

No.

The only reason you feel this way is because you don't play competitively. I speak from both sides of the spectrum in that I play highly competitive games and I also LOVE the games you speak about.

1. Campers - Camping is NOT a viable strategy in a highly competitive game. Why? Because you won't have resources to compete. Camping only works in situations like Mount Olympus where crates are on and you don't get rushed.

How do you defeat campers? Usually through the air or just brute force. Try getting a massive economy (since you have the whole map) and controlling as much area as possible and then surprising him with kirovs or tons of rocketeers to break through his camp. It's rather easy for me to beat a camper, as I am experienced, but it will be difficult for you to do the same. Just practice.

My game on Mount Olympus: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DAPLOfLAb6c&list=UUBkmpxxL9FlHTiErpRUAYbA