Jump to content


Photo

New RA2 QM Patch Now ACTIVE in QM!


  • Please log in to reply
159 replies to this topic

#1 rumblesom

rumblesom

    Captain

  • Strike Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4950 posts

Posted 08 June 2009 - 11:14 PM

11/07/2011: CURRENT UPDATE!

HEAR YE! HEAR YE! The RA2 QM Map Patch has now been made active in the QM!

The QM Map Patch is now several years old and has undergone numerous updates. With rigourous testing and careful attention to input from the community, the map patch offers players the chance to expand the map pool for quick matches and custom games. Below the installation instructions are map preview images as well as a list of previous updates. Any further updates will be refered to in this topic, and detailed extensively in a seperate, dedicated page.

Players may manually select which maps are made active for quick matches by setting their map preferences at http://xwis.net/control_panel/

Notes for Installation:

If this is your first time downloading the patch, make sure RA2 is NOT open, then run The Launcher

After the installation has completed, starting red alert 2 via ra2.exe will automatically keep the patch up-to-date.

UPDATE: Over the past week we have been continuously releasing patch updates that correct various bugs. This has caused some incompatibility with players using older versions. The patch is self-updating, however if you have had any recent problems with the patch please follow these steps to ensure you have a properly working version.

1) make sure ra2 is closed
2) Run "remove xwis maps.exe" found in your ra2 directory

For TFD: C:Program FilesEA GamesCommand & Conquer The First DecadeCommand & Conquer Red Alert™ IIRA2
For Ra2 CD: C:WestwoodRA2

3) Download the patch by right clicking this link and choosing "save target as"; save to ra2 directory

4) Run "Launcher.exe"

This will ensure you have the current version of the patch; from this point on, starting ra2.exe will keep your patch up-to-date.

To restore the stock version of RA2, run "remove xwis maps.exe".


Features of the New RA2 QM Map Patch:

* 12 Very Carefully Chosen Maps
* Automatic Installation of the RA2 QM Reso Patch
* Fixed Versions of Cold War and Snow Valley (Movement bugs fixed!!! No more stuck tanks!!!)
* Automatic Patch Updates (never required to manually run the patch again)


The current active maps as of June 14, 2011 are:

Arden River
Cold War (fixed)
Dry Heat
Lakeside Plateaus
Little Big Bay
Morningtide
North Waves
Poltergeist
Southern Comfort
Snow Valley (fixed)
Tikal
Tour of Egypt
Tournament Map Q (Mirrored)
Twin Peaks
Urban Marine revisited
Yellowstone
Ying Yang


Once again, the map patch is now active in QM play! Please give it a try, and report your experiences here!

Special Thanks to:

Frank Razenberg (zzattack on ST) - The creator of the patch
Olaf van der Spek - Enabled the patch for QM play + MADE XWIS ;)
Grant (neogrant on ST) - created awesome images for patch promotion and assisted in promoting the patch
DonCarlo - Officially promoted the patch through ST

And thanks to everyone who helped us test the maps, and provided feed back in the discussion topics!

http://xwis.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=155456
http://xwis.net/forums/index.php?sh...=155455&hl=


Final note:
Since this patch is brand-new, we expect some bugs to still be present. If you encounter any, please uninstall the patch (run "remove xwis maps.exe" in your RA2 directory), and contact zzattack before publicly stating the patch doesn't work and potentially scaring off people who would otherwise give the patch a try. We will do our very best to get your problem fixed as soon as possible.


If this does not resolve your problem, please make a seperate topic in the help area. - XWIS HELP

Update History:
04/01/2011: please see here for the most current update Posted Image

12/19/2009 THE QM MAP PATCH UPDATE HAS BEGUN!!! Please see here for more details!!!

Edited by rumblesom, 10 October 2011 - 04:42 PM.


#2 dsector

dsector

    Captain

  • XWIS Buddies
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3696 posts

Posted 08 June 2009 - 11:23 PM

Very nice :)

Good job zzattack and everyone else that helped out.

Would be nice if everyone had it though. It should be advertised in the lobbies and QM screen.

Edited by dsector, 08 June 2009 - 11:23 PM.


#3 XXxPrePxX

XXxPrePxX

    King of Yuris Revenge

  • XWIS Buddies
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8535 posts

Posted 09 June 2009 - 12:21 AM

koo

#4 Pompski

Pompski

    Emilio's Owner

  • Strike Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19854 posts
  • Location:Royal Air Force
  • XWIS Name: Pomp

Posted 09 June 2009 - 01:25 AM

Excellent! Cant wait to get stuck into this at the weekend :)

#5 imurfriend

imurfriend

    Sergeant

  • Duplicate account
  • PipPipPip
  • 63 posts

Posted 09 June 2009 - 07:18 AM

should be a auto patch coz this will fail like every map patch did :( 2 bad coz the idea is good

#6 PiNeRs!!!

PiNeRs!!!

    Seal

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 168 posts

Posted 09 June 2009 - 09:17 AM

Can't wait to get these new maps in !

#7 zzattack

zzattack

    Colonel

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5357 posts
  • Location:Eindhoven, Netherlands
  • XWIS Name: zzattack

Posted 09 June 2009 - 01:20 PM

Very nice :)

Good job zzattack and everyone else that helped out.

Would be nice if everyone had it though. It should be advertised in the lobbies and QM screen.

Thanks. We're hoping Don can help us in that department :)

should be a auto patch coz this will fail like every map patch did :( 2 bad coz the idea is good

Well, that's not possible. I agree this takes a little more effort than installation through an automatic patch, and you'll need to have heard of it before you can actually get this patch, but is that really such a problem? This way, you actually have the choice of installing this patch or not. Besides, there are not a lot of people left on RA2, it shouldn't be that hard to convince those few to download a small program and run it once. So if you like the idea of some new nice maps in QM, show it. And by that I mean do not show it in this topic by replying, but show it to other players who may not have the patch yet and tell them to install it immediately.

Can't wait to get these new maps in !

They are already in ;) Get your friends to install the patch too so you can actually play on them!

#8 FReQuEnZy

FReQuEnZy

    Retired

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7986 posts

Posted 09 June 2009 - 01:34 PM

should be a auto patch coz this will fail like every map patch did :( 2 bad coz the idea is good


Thats been long discussed and discarded as a option .. and it does auto update once installed, we just gotta get the news out.

Edit: Frank's post wasn't above mine before i typed it :p

Edited by FReQuEnZy, 09 June 2009 - 01:39 PM.


#9 DrVanNostrand

DrVanNostrand

    Colonel

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5114 posts

Posted 09 June 2009 - 01:37 PM

blah not gonna dl that patch just because therse deadmans ridge, hateeeeeeeee it

#10 Chrisev

Chrisev

    CnCSaga Staff since 2009

  • Donators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9127 posts
  • Location:Belgium
  • XWIS Name: Chrisev

Posted 09 June 2009 - 03:05 PM

good job :cool:

#11 rumblesom

rumblesom

    Captain

  • Strike Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4950 posts

Posted 09 June 2009 - 03:33 PM

new updates:

River Rampage to be made mirror matches only

Deadman's Ridge to be made mirror matches only

Dry Heat to be made not mirrored

Edited by rumblesom, 09 June 2009 - 03:36 PM.


#12 tom2cool

tom2cool

    b00 ya!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11168 posts
  • Location:in a hole
  • XWIS Name: c0oL4tom

Posted 09 June 2009 - 03:34 PM

blah not gonna dl that patch just because therse deadmans ridge, hateeeeeeeee it

Deadman ridge is such a fun map to play! I hope your joking when you dont wna get pwnt on the new maps so u wont get it :p

#13 NeoGrant

NeoGrant

    Commander

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14914 posts
  • XWIS Name: neo

Posted 09 June 2009 - 04:05 PM

can't wait :D

#14 Retired

Retired

    THE KING HAS GONE

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4540 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • XWIS Name: JRisKing

Posted 09 June 2009 - 04:11 PM

Nice :laugh:

That is not Tour of Egypt though, where are the PYRAMIDS??

#15 NeoGrant

NeoGrant

    Commander

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14914 posts
  • XWIS Name: neo

Posted 09 June 2009 - 04:13 PM

who uses pyramids anyway ^^ they only get chrono'd

#16 MewMyMuff

MewMyMuff

    Seal

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts

Posted 10 June 2009 - 05:03 PM

Can Don/Olaf put a message up on QM saying to come here and download it?

#17 NeoGrant

NeoGrant

    Commander

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14914 posts
  • XWIS Name: neo

Posted 10 June 2009 - 05:10 PM

NOTE: If you are experiencing any problems or would like help with the RA2 QM Patch please make a separate topic in the help area to get it resolved.

#18 DonCarlo

DonCarlo

    Omertan

  • ST Retirees
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18264 posts

Posted 10 June 2009 - 05:24 PM

Can Don/Olaf put a message up on QM saying to come here and download it?

We are in the process of promoting it on the sites and servers as we speak

#19 ProWiNz

ProWiNz

    Retired

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5652 posts

Posted 10 June 2009 - 06:56 PM

They are already in ;) Get your friends to install the patch too so you can actually play on them!

Was the problem fixed on deadmans ridge (idk if it was just specifically this map) because i remember chris (my bro) and ben playing on it and chris got dc screen, ben got recon. Then emilio and warren tested it and it did it again. Was j/w.

http://xwis.net/forums/index.php?sh...129606&st=0

http://xwis.net/forums/index.php?sh...29619&st=15

#20 rumblesom

rumblesom

    Captain

  • Strike Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4950 posts

Posted 10 June 2009 - 07:06 PM

Was the problem fixed on deadmans ridge (idk if it was just specifically this map) because i remember chris (my bro) and ben playing on it and chris got dc screen, ben got recon. Then emilio and warren tested it and it did it again. Was j/w.

http://xwis.net/forums/index.php?sh...129606&st=0

http://xwis.net/forums/index.php?sh...29619&st=15



although several trial runs were played through to normal completion, we cannot verify this bug has been definitively fixed. Deadman's Ridge has been removed from the map patch.

#21 Mikoz

Mikoz

    Colonel

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7089 posts
  • Location:AMSTERDAM
  • XWIS Name: Palacio

Posted 10 June 2009 - 07:08 PM

Man i havent rly been on forums and didnt notice about this patch ..

but i gotta say .. ownage job man !

Offi map Q, omfg :D

Edited by Mikoz, 10 June 2009 - 07:19 PM.


#22 NeoGrant

NeoGrant

    Commander

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14914 posts
  • XWIS Name: neo

Posted 10 June 2009 - 07:50 PM

FAQ/ troubleshooter added

#23 xMonster

xMonster

    Captain

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1049 posts
  • Location:Virginia, USA
  • XWIS Name: k1lla2127

Posted 11 June 2009 - 03:49 AM

Ya deadman is a really stupid and crappy map. good that you got rid of it

#24 Todd

Todd

    Seal

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 286 posts

Posted 11 June 2009 - 06:17 AM

Nice work.

Unfortunately I dont think this is going to increase activity :(

#25 Carl

Carl

    Commander

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5755 posts
  • Location:England
  • XWIS Name: Brother

Posted 11 June 2009 - 10:27 AM

Nice. I like the fixes of snow and cold.

Many thanks all.


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users